You’ve Got Mail! (Practical way to CARE and LEARN Language)

1-2014-02-21 Using Shoe boxes to make our Letter Box and kids decorate them.

I saw a simple but effective idea to encourage caring and boosting language learning at FrugalFun4Boys.

Coincidentally, my boys had asked me for envelopes recently to put their drawings and ‘letters’ into them as mail for me!Needless to say, I was thrilled when I saw this mailing activity! It was like God’s way of teaching me how to make use of such enthusiasm(of the boys) practically,to build life skills, language and heart attitudes all  at the same time! 

I quickly searched for all my unused and old envelopes, stickers and cards. I was happy to let them use up as they were kept for too long to be given away. With our current technology we use less of such snail mails. Starting this activity brought back fond memories of the written word and the beauty of tangible letters for keeps.

1-2014-02-27 Final Products (fyi, you can click on image to get enlarged view)

1-IMG_6881 Samples of Stamps and a real mailed letter.

I began with a short explanation of what items they needed to mail a letter and then showed them the different samples of stamps. They  were also briefed on the format of writing to the Addressee, mailing address and the placement of stamp.

1-IMG_6882 I organised a writing kit for their independent use.

The kit includes

  1.  Envelopes
  2.  Highlighters
  3. DIY blank square papers for their stamp design 
  4. Stickers
  5. Cards
  6. Flashcards
  7. Common sight words (I will be including after i make them)
  8. Stationary (which are already available at my Art mobile Cot station)

I have included the flashcards for the kids to use as references for words they might want to use.

1-2014-02-271 Busy designing own stamps

I was not hard and fast over the stamp designs. I also provided them with cute mini stamps for their design and they were happy stamping away….

1-IMG_6894 Papa and Mama’s surprise love letters !

After the first introduction, Only my eldest managed to write a letter to mum (yeah,me) while the rest were glad to design their stamps. On that night, both my hubby and I wrote to each of them and waited for them to collect and mail the letters the next day! My eldest had lamented why no one had posted a letter to him. I asked him to go and check the mailbox carefully and they jumped in delight after discovering our letters. Their expressions were locked up in the recesses of my heart…. A Treasure Moment! I then read to them (J and E) the letters pointing to each word for their learning. A read his and immediately started his own letter writing. The whole process of reading to them our love letters left a deep impression in me. They were soaking in our love and we hugged each other while they were read. What better way to build deeper relationships and learn valuable life skills!

1-2014-02-281  In turn, the kids eagerly worked  at their letters for Daddy.

For this mail writing activity, the boys were contented to let me spell what they wanted to write. I asked what my girl wanted to write, and wrote for her to see. I find that they are unconsciously learning spelling, and practicing writing in the whole process. My girl also learns the language by observing how i write and spell. At the same time, they express their love and care for one another with language, drawings and stickers.

1-2014-02-28 Each person will take turns to be the postboy/gal to ‘deliver’ letters to the correct letterbox. I was pleasantly surprised that my youngest was quick to identify the correct box for each mail.

1-2014-02-272      Stamp of acknowledgement from Post Office

My eldest noticed that the envelope had a date and wavy lines stamp and that was what led me to add a real stamp to print the date when the ‘Post office’ received the mails. He was eager to stamp the date and added the wavy lines just like the sample above. I was just amused by his meticulous nature.

1-mail  You’ve got mail! (Not e-mail)

When was the last time you received a snail mail or sent one? Or just wrote a card to a loved one? Somehow, nothing beats a personal touch, a unique handwritten/drawn note, the fresh smell of paper (or personal perfume on it), the smooth, crisp piece that can be folded and crumpled…

Let’s re-introduce this beautiful tradition to our younger generation beginning with us at home. : )

new button

6 comments

    • Thanks for popping by! Yes, now we’ve progressed to sending real mail to our relatives and friends. This motivates me to keep in touch with them! And they are so appreciative of the kiddo’s simple letters. : )

  1. […] CM (Charlotte Mason) also believes in writing excellently. Click CM Writing excerpt for her view. In another reading, she explained in detail that writing should be monitored closely and once a letter is not written well, the child should erase immediately before continuing the next letter. This is to help develop excellence in writing. Quality of work is emphasised over quantity. It was a tedious process to me, as it meant vigilant monitoring of work! However, after following her advice, I could see the fruits of labour as A was able to write decently especially the Chinese characters. Another detailed post will be done on how the kids learn Chinese Writing. Another way of practising writing is via mail writing. […]

  2. […] CM (Charlotte Mason) also believes in writing excellently. Click CM Writing excerpt for her view. In another reading, she explained in detail that writing should be monitored closely and once a letter is not written well, the child should erase immediately before continuing the next letter. This is to help develop excellence in writing. Quality of work is emphasised over quantity. It was a tedious process to me, as it meant vigilant monitoring of work! However, after following her advice, I could see the fruits of labour as A was able to write decently especially the Chinese characters. Another detailed post will be done on how the kids learn Chinese Writing. Another way of practising writing is via mail writing. […]

Leave a Reply

