HeArtfelt Clayworks of Gratitude 2

This is a continuation from HeArtfelt Clayworks of Gratitude 1.

You might be wondering why do I let them paint the clay after decorating with the sequins and beads? I understand it is much more difficult and messier to paint at this stage. If you prefer waiting for the clay to dry then painting it and allow for more drying time before decoration, please go ahead. : )

My reasons?

Having them embedded inside the clay makes it hardier and creates a more interesting tactile effect over simply waiting for the clay to dry and pasting it with glue. I took the risk of painting after the decoration. If it was a coloured clay as in the case of Sun Hats & Wellie Boots, it would suffice without any paint. In my case, I preferred white clay for the colourful sequins. What I wasn’t expecting was the simple designs some of the pieces were. That was when I decided adding colours would bring some of  the clay pieces alive. If you noticed, there are a few unpainted ones as they were sufficiently decorated.

The kids also learn how to paint a 3D form, which helped them understand the difference between a flat surface and one with volume. As you can see, they had to consider all the surfaces of the clay piece. As this was their first attempt in painting a thick piece of clay (some extent of volume), I did not fuss over the uneven painting outcome. In fact, the areas where beads and sequins were embedded would create a blotchy effect giving its surrounding an ‘outline’ of the shapes, emphasizing their presence on the clay. And I kinda like that effect. : )

2014-08-29

The below is the 3 stages of work process.

1 – In our previous post, kids cut out, moulded the clay and embedded them with          materials.

2 – They hand painted everything and let it dry before I helped them paste onto the various materials. (Mainly the long and broad lolly sticks, broad pegs)

Please note that I helped the kids clean the sequins and beads after they applied paint to keep their glitter or original colour. But you must do it quickly before the paint dries up.

3 – After drying the glued items, I coated a layer of Gloss Varnish to strengthen the clay and add a sheen to it.

2014-08-264

IMG_9363 IMG_9364 For the jars of Clay, I used hot glue gun to stick the clay mould onto the cap. I also used another Bear mould as a fridge magnet which I didn’t show here.

2014-09-01 IMG_9377IMG_9376

For the above pieces, I had poked a hole while the clay was fresh in view of using these as ornaments to hang.

IMG_9359

IMG_9351

As I made plans to allocate time for this project, I began to appreciate the waiting process. The kids also learn that works of art/other works require time and effort= patience. It also helps them appreciate what is involved in making and creating something. In this world of instant gratification, taking time and effort to work on projects like this would subtly but I feel powerfully help the young minds to appreciate the beauty of life in patient labour. It also makes me value the hard work that goes into especially handmade products or see the process behind people’s gifts/acts of love.

Once again, Thank You Teachers!

7 thoughts on “HeArtfelt Clayworks of Gratitude 2

    1. Thanks Ing! Ya, lots of planning and care taken. But lots of learning too! : ) I remind the kids that we might not have much money to buy gifts but we can give the gift of time and effort in making something for others. : )

Leave a Reply

