MERRY CHRISTMAS! We’ve finally COMPLETED! Presenting Series M to U for now.

This is the series on A-Z Christmas Canvases and I will leave the final products for view after they have been given away. : )

The recent days have been hectic without my helper and hubby around. Which accounts for my silence in my blog. I also finally succumbed to a cold upon the very day my helper returned! Talk about God’s perfect timing? : ) I could therefore really rest peacefully though not for long as there was still these canvases to complete! Ok, in short, I thank God for empowering us to complete these before Christmas and am very elated over how they turned out! Here goes…

13) M for Messiah

Luke 2:11   Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord.

路 加 福 音 2:11 因 今 天 在 大 卫 的 城 里 , 为 你 们 生 了 救 主 , 就 是 主 基 督

Basically to simplify terms, we discussed over how Jesus was the Messiah in terms of being a chosen coming King who would save the Jews of those times. And more importantly, save the world from sin and death. J at first drew a castle which later strangely became a stage explosive with confetti sequins and illustrated with a ‘king’ figure and a few figures whom he explained as ‘God’s disciples’ and asked me to spell for him to write down. I had this mini piece of white chess which he included at the hand of the Messiah instead of the head (my version).

1-IMG_0389

14) N for Nazarene

Matthew 2:23  and he went and lived in a town called Nazareth. So was fulfilled what was said through the prophets, that he would be called a Nazarene.

马 太 福 音 2:23   到 了 一 座 城 , 名 叫 拿 撒 勒 , 就 住 在 那 里 。 这 是 要 应 验 先 知 所 说 , 他 将 称 为 拿 撒 勒 人 的 话 了 。

We discussed over the geographical location of Nazareth in Israel. And I showed him an illustrated map as a visual reference. He then painted his own expressions of the background.

1-2014-12-064 N nazarene

15) O for One

Luke 1:35b   So the holy one to be born will be called[b] the Son of God.

路 加 福 音 1:35b 因 此 所 要 生 的 圣 者 , 必 称 为 神 的 儿 子 。 ( 或 作 所 要 生 的 必 称 为 圣 称 为 神 的 儿 子 )

This was simple enough to illustrate. There is only One Holy God. The holy One is Jesus. E was happy to do her number 1. For this, she chose her favourite purple and mixed with white. Then I suggested ice cream stick for 1. She excitedly requested to add One purple rose to decorate.

1-2014-12-065 O for One

16) P for Peace

Luke 2:14   “Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”

路 加 福 音2:14 在 至 高 之 处 荣 耀 归 与 神 , 在 地 上 平 安 归 与 他 所 喜 悦 的 人 。 ( 有 古 卷 作 喜 悦 归 与 人 ) 。

This piece, is erm  not exactly the best expression of ‘peaceful’ by E. I was sharing how God would bring peace to those who believes and trust in Him. And how one can have peace even when sometimes we are in trouble because we have Jesus in our hearts. I gave her a few examples and asked her which postcards represented peace and otherwise. Not to my surprise, she accurately pointed out those which had tranquil effects. She then chose The Creation of Adam by Michelangelo. Me: “you sure?” She seemed determined and I left her to her own. That day was pretty off focused, somehow all kids became restless very soon. In exasperation, I called it a day. I was beginning to become weary myself with my cold and approaching dateline. Halfway, she gave up on that illustration and insisted on just doing free art, her style despite much persuasion from me. I was still unable to get her on ‘task’ on the topic. I gave in and kept the peace. I thought to myself either she keeps this piece or redo another piece. In the end, she was really pleased with her work and happily kept this Peace of work for herself. : ) And I was relieved that I needn’t ask her to redo nor the need to gift it to others. For a simple reason- others might not appreciate this lack of aesthetics artwork like I will. I also do believe in giving not necessary the best, but at least a presentable and a thought through piece of art as a gift. Our culture still has yet to appreciate Art process over product.

1-2014-12-09 P peace

16) Q for Quirinius

Luke 2:2  (This was the first census that took place while[a] Quirinius was governor of Syria.)

路 加 福 音 2:2 这 是 居 里 扭 作 叙 利 亚 巡 抚 的 时 候 , 头 一 次 行 报 名 上 册 的 事 。

This was a tough one. I thank God for giving me an only Q which actually occurred so timely in the scripture passages! Problem is- how to illustrate this cheem (difficult) character????? I prayed and did my research. Then discussed with A how Quirinius was the ruler of the Roman Empire times. I was glad to have a history book with vivid illustrations on the Roman empire and we gained a bit of history. Then A chose the Roman officer’s helmet and sword to observe and illustrate. He painted the items and the yellow square was a glass box to exhibit them! He seemed contented with that. I urged him the next day to add more details and re-scrutinise the visual aid. Sometimes, there’s a fine balance between aiming towards excellence and allowing of freedom of expression. I felt this was a time to stretch him.

1-2014-12-091 Q Quirinius

17) R for Rejoice

Luke 1:47 and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,
路 加 福 音 1:47   我 灵 以 神 我 的 救 主 为

It was a joyous occasion for Mary and for the world. This was manageable for J. He immediately came up with the idea – when we are happy, we sing! I can draw someone singing with music notes!  ” Great idea! Go get your music book to draw?” Then we discussed further how we can enhance the painting. We talked about smiley faces and I threw in our stickers idea which he lit up immediately and ran to the art station to get the set of smiley faces to paste. : )

1-2014-12-17 R Rejoice

18) S for Star

Matthew 2:2  “Where is the one who has been born king of the Jews? We saw his star when it rose and have come to worship him.”

2:2 那 生 下 来 作 犹 太 人 之 王 的 在 哪 里 ? 我 们 在 东 方 看 见 他 的 , 特 来 拜 他 。

E’s first response to star’s background was All Black ok? Sure baby! Then this time I introduced a new material. Aluminium foil. The rest was history. We crushed and positioned the pieces of foil and I glue gunned them.

1-IMG_0420

19) T for Time

Matthew 2:7 Then Herod called the Magi secretly and found out from them the exact time the star had appeared.

马 太 福 音 2:7 当 下 希 律 暗 暗 地 召 了 博 士 来 , 细 问 那 星 是 什 么 时 候 出 现 的 。

I thought it would be significant to note how God in His meticulous and powerful plan, ordained the star to shine brightest at a specific Time and directed the wisemen to a specific location to find Jesus. Our times are in His hands. This was pretty straightforward. So E by now just rolled out her desired colours and painted. I recycled a set of Number magnets for this concept of time. I observed she had laid out the numbers from right to left and corrected her. Then we painted them red for a good contrast. She then glued them as she fancied.

1-2014-12-19 T Time

20) U for Us

Isaiah 9:6  For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

 9:6 因 有 一 婴 孩 为 而 生 , 有 一 子 赐 给 。 政 权 必 担 在 他 的 肩 头 上 。 他 名 称 为 奇 妙 ,

策 士 , 全 能 的 神 , 永 在 的 父 , 和 平 的 君 。

This verse is actually a prophecy fulfilled indicating the divine birth of Christ. It is reassuring to know that Jesus came to earth for a purpose. For US. Rom 5:8 ‘For God demonstrates his own love for us in this, while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.’ A in this photo drew his people and later painted over them with the green and made that as background. Instead he drew the people to represent Us.

1-IMG_0423

The process for this round of art tested my patience due to the stress of managing the housechores (which my hubby helped a lot) and still getting a bit of art works going. The few days that my hubby was around, he saw the process that we go through each time we start on a new letter- Reading and discovering God’s word afresh, recording them down through copying of the verses and then discussing ideas before finally getting down to painting. Afterwhich the second follow up work of drawing of decorating the background to express our ideas.

He would subsequently chip in and help out for the last few letters that sped things up and led to a final completion! That will be in my next post! : )

Meanwhile, Have a Blessed Christmas tomorrow!

IMG_0555

 

For previous sets, please visit Series A-F , Series G – L .

Click on for the Final Series V-Z .

For more of GrowingHearts, come join us at our FaceBook, Or Subscribe by entering your e-mail in the box on the top right side bar to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “MERRY CHRISTMAS! We’ve finally COMPLETED! Presenting Series M to U for now.

  1. Wow… this is amazing. It must have taken alot of hard work and patience to complete all these canvases. Kudos to you and your kids! Have a blessed Christmas! 🙂

    1. Thanks be to God truly who planted the ideas and empowered us to complete. : ) It’s been a great year following your blog. May you continue to thrive in His wonderful blessings! Blessed Christmas!

      1. Thanks! Glad to have found your blog too. It’s been a great inspiration to me and an abundant resource of ideas! Keep creating, writing and sharing. Looking forward to more of your inspiring work next year!

Leave a Reply

