Did You Ever Talk to God Above?

Many times when we share amongst ourselves, other mums would ask me how do I manage the misbehaviours of my three children? Or how do I manage them? Here I  share what I know as the key to my embracing of motherhood and training of my children.

1. Pray Daily

I started praying daily for and with our children 3 years ago more consistently. It is one practical and effective way to love and bless my children. Of course, God doesn’t need me to pray in order for Him to teach or work in my children’s lives. Nontheless, He delights in having us depend on Him to do that when we seek His face in prayer.

2. Pray using Scriptures

Apart from praying in the spirit and for the specific needs and character transformation in my kids, I use the scriptures to cover them in prayer. I had been using 2 sets of prayer list for them in the past few years. One of them is by Bob Hostsetler. You can download a PDF version in Inspired To Action. The next prayer list was adapted from somewhere (either a book or from someone, pardon me, I cannot recall!) which you can download the Word Doc here- Daily prayer for our children. (please inform me if anyone can recognise where this prayer list is from so I can give due credit to the person)

I find praying the above lists edifying as we are wielding the Word of God to pray for them. In the process, my mind is also renewed by the scriptures reminding me to apply the truth in our lives.

Another good resource is Praying for your Children by Elmer L.Towns and Dave Earley who provides in depth insights on

  • Why Pray for Children?
  • How to Pray for them Seven Days a week
  • Preparing to Pray with Children
  • Preparing Children to pray
  • Teaching Children to Pray

Lastly, I would like to end with a favourite Hymn. Singing this song always cheers me up with hope and joy knowing how intimately close our saviour is to those who seek Him in prayer. : )

 

 Did you ever talk to God above

Tell Him that you need a friend to love

Pray in Jesus’ name believing that God answers prayers

Have you told Him all your cares and woes

Every tiny little fear He knows

You can know He’ll always hear and

He will answer prayer 

You can whisper in a crowd to Him

You can cry when you’re alone to Him 

You don’t have to pray out loud to Him 

He knows your thoughts

On a lofty mountain peak He’s there 

In a meadow by a stream He’s there 

Anywhere on earth you go

He’s been there from the start

Find the answer in His Word; it’s true.

You’ll be strong because He walks with you.

By His faithfulness He’ll change you, too.

God answers prayer.

 

Have you talked to God above? : )

For more of GrowingHearts, come join us at our FaceBook, Or Subscribe by entering your e-mail in the box on the top right side bar to receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

