HeArt Inspiring Words!

For my 2015 ‘s To do list, I had embarked on 15 things. Pt 13- Create.

Clay

The idea of creating a series of my cell member’s One Word Art came after I made the first work for Goodness.

1-2015-03-042

Goodness

1-IMG_1270

My friend’s name resembled little cloud. So I personalised it and goodness in a cloud came about. No matter what the weather is like, the goodness of the Lord never ceases. From there, one can focus on setting our thoughts on good thoughts.

Philippians 4:8New International Version (NIV)

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Still

1-2015-03-121

The second image conjured up a wave. Whatever the consequence, when we set our hearts and mind on Christ (the cross in the letter ‘t’) being in the vessel, we can be still and smile at the storm. : )

Psalm 46:10New International Version (NIV)

10 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
    I will be exalted among the nations,
    I will be exalted in the earth.”

These 2 by the way are magnet clays.

1-2015-05-281

Faith

1-faith

As I pondered over this word, faith is something unseen (the cut out unseen part of thee clay). Yet we live on this earth (the clay parts). The letter ‘t’ denotes Christ on the cross. Only the cross is tangible like the earth. The incarnation of Christ. God humbling himself to become like one of us. We can therefore see clearly despite the unknown or unforeseen circumstances in life. Having the faith to rest securely in Christ alone. Our faith when tested, will be refined like gold.

Hebrews 11:1New International Version (NIV)

11 Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Seek

1-IMG_2659

Seek was a challenge. How to portray a seeking heart? I dug into the lump of clay the word. The rock of clay is solid and weighted with strength. To seek God requires a purposeful and effortful active pursuit amidst the miry clump of earth.

Psalm 105:4New International Version (NIV)

Look to the Lord and his strength;
    seek his face always.

Content

1-2015-07-04

This word brings me the image that I’d read in the book on What’s in Your Bowl?.  I decided to pinch a bowl out of clay to provide the visual dimension of contentment in looking at one’s own personal bowl instead of other people’s bowls. The flower embedded inside signifies the beautiful growth that the Lord has and is doing within the soul. We like clay are easily broken and the unpolished clay represents the work in progress effect. I decided to add the tiny pearls that was glued one by one to create a pattern. Then completed it with the purple ‘gems’. The individual is precious and uniquely made and can be contented with the master’s plans.

Psalm 23:1New King James Version (NKJV)

23 The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.

Paintings

1-2015-05-03

Shepherd

1-cheerful shepherd

For this painting, it had started off as Cheerful, nonetheless it evolved and became clearer to my friend that only by focusing on the Shepherd that she can be of good cheer. The rainbow is reflected to draw up a ‘smile’ : ) Therefore the 2 words and my addition of the shadow of the shepherd. Who wouldn’t smile when we see the beautiful rainbows?

Psalm 23:1New King James Version (NKJV)

23 The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.

Invest

1-1-invest

This was a mind boggling one which I had 2 failed attempts. Until I was inspired by a Sermon on the fruits of the vine that gave birth to this work. Only when time, energy and patient sowing, tilling of the ground, caring for the growth that fruits will bear. However, the gardener can do everything, without the Sonlight and rain to shower, the hand of God in our labours, the grapevines will not bear fruits. Similarly, one has to take care to invest in his own spiritual walk with God, in the midst of investing in the lives of others. In other words, only by remaining in the vine, the branches will bear fruit. Without the vine ( Christ in the cross) , the branches are nothing. John 15: 1-17

Matthew 22:37-39New International Version (NIV)

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

Satisfied

1-IMG_1812

The image of honey overflowing together with the hymn – like honey in the rock, sweet honey in the rock, for He tastes like honey in the rock, O taste and see that the Lord is good! For He tastes like honey in the Rock….morphed into this painting. Looking at this I pray this friend will be satisfied knowing He is her heart’s content!

Psalm 17:15 New International Version (NIV)

15 As for me, I will be vindicated and will see your face;
    when I awake, I will be satisfied with seeing your likeness.

Patience

1-1-IMG_2170

My original idea got invaded by the pouring of dots, leaving a trail of path light. The shower of dots speak patience for itself? Christ himself bore our sins with enduring patience.

Ephesians 4:1-3 New International Version (NIV)

As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.

Still

1-IMG_2101

This time round, being still is having the grace to look up at the cross so that one can overcome the world of temptations and turmoil, allowing Christ’s light to shine into them. Great is the reward of being still!

Psalm 46:10New International Version (NIV)

10 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
    I will be exalted among the nations,
    I will be exalted in the earth.”

Action

1-Action

I took the longest to finally conceptualise this piece in His time. Many images of action packed figures came into play. However, the 3 words just linger in my mind for months without a visual- Blood, Sweat and Pain. Until my hubby bought a journal book and the cover page gave me the idea! Droplets of red blood and blue sweat. Blood, the price that Christ paid for our sins to be forgiven. Sweat on his eyebrow that lived a life of servanthood, a diligent carpenter journeyed to Calvary for you and me. Praying that my brother in Christ will take action as he sees Christ’s act of love for us.

Philippians 4:13 New International Version (NIV)

13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Lovely

Lovely

This is the last piece that I have to complete the group’s One Word.

It is in this work that I encountered the Lord’s amazing guidance. I had wanted to do flowers or an abstract design. Then as I sat down to meditate on the word, the image of the turquoise with pink flowers printed bag floated in. That’s a suitable colour combination for this sister in Christ. A strong and pretty personality. I recalled a lovely sticker with that colour scheme and pasted that lovely bird on a rose nest. That triggered my painting of a tree with lovely branching out.

After my completion of the work, I cleaned up and kept the materials ready to turn in. Then I found myself humming the song that I had made up myself on Psalm 84. As I hummed along, it suddenly struck me-  The verse has the word lovely! And the picture was a bird on a rose nest finding much delight! Imagine my delight! This Psalm was a great encouragement to me at a low period in my life.

I broke into a silly and excited laughter which confused my hubs until I explained what had happened.

Psalm 84New International Version (NIV)

How lovely is your dwelling place,
    Lord Almighty!
My soul yearns, even faints,
    for the courts of the Lord;
my heart and my flesh cry out
    for the living God.
Even the sparrow has found a home,
    and the swallow a nest for herself,
    where she may have her young—
a place near your altar,
    Lord Almighty, my King and my God.
Blessed are those who dwell in your house;
    they are ever praising you.[c]

Blessed are those whose strength is in you,
    whose hearts are set on pilgrimage.
As they pass through the Valley of Baka,
    they make it a place of springs;
    the autumn rains also cover it with pools.[d]
They go from strength to strength,
    till each appears before God in Zion.

I pray that this dear sister will indeed be satisfied and make God’s dwelling place her delight and rest in His lovely abode in every circumstances in her life.

In this year of creating these works for my dear sisters and brothers in Christ, I have gained a heart of wisdom and enjoyed the creative ideas from the Greatest Artist of all times. It has been a valuable experience being still contemplating on the words of God in this creative process.

I also discovered more about myself. I work better with a word in mind.

I thank God for this cell who have been a strong spiritual support throughout all these years. It is also a privilege to express my heartfelt appreciation with these artworks to mark a tender closure, and a new phase of a new cell life henceforth. Thank You Jedi Cell for the wonderful journey we had and the many blessings bestowed!

 For more of GrowingHearts, come join us at our FaceBook, Or Subscribe by entering your e-mail in the box on the top right side bar to receive notifications of new posts by email.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

