What? Run with a Painted Tutu? (GE Women’s Run 2015 Review)

 

GEWR2015_Minister Grace Fu flagging off the 10km category

GE start

Photos by Great Eastern Women’s Run 2015

GREAT EASTERN Report:

10th edition of Great Eastern Women’s Run attracts record turnout of 17,000

The Run raised $120,000 for women and children-related causes

Singapore, 1 November 2015- This morning, the 17,000 women who participated in the Great Eastern Women’s Run broke the record for the largest number of participants in an all-women run in Asia.

The race, in its 10th edition, was bigger, better and more colourful and attracted increased participation in all three categories — the 5km Fun Run, 10km and 21.1km.

Guest-of-Honour, Ms Grace Fu, Minister for Culture, Community and Youth, flagged off the 10km category and also joined in the race.

For the first time, participants donned colourful tutus in a myriad of hues of pink, blue, yellow and purple, in support of three women and children-related charities — Breast Cancer Foundation, Community Chest (Children with Special Needs) and SingHealth Duke-NUS OBGYN Academic Clinical Program.

A total of 15 elite runners from Japan, North Korea, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Philippines and Taiwan competed for a total prize purse of USD$16,500 and SGD$6,700 in their respective elite categories.

In the 21.1km Half Marathon Elite Open category, 18-year-old Kim Ji Hyang from North Korea emerged the overall winner with a timing of 1:12:53, taking home the grand prize of USD$8,000.

Yuko Watanabe, 28-years-old, from Japan put up a close fight with a timing of 1:16:01, followed by Myong Sun Sin from North Korea with a timing of 1:17:06

The local Elite Closed category saw tough competition with Vivian Tang first past the finish Line with a time of 1:28:37. Rachel See was a close second with 1:28:45 followed by last year’s local Elite Closed winner Mok Ying Rong at 1:31:11.

Two females and a Tutu

“HUH? NO!…. I’m not wearing that….’ was my first reaction when I received my tutu. Not until my sporting group from Singapore Mom Bloggers (SMB) agreed to wear as a group. I thought to myself- ‘Haiya, why take myself so seriously? Don’t care la! Wear.’ And since I’m wearing it, why not give it a good shot? Art Attack Time!

1-2015-10-31

1-P1000225

1-2015-11-01 GE Run 2015

Thanks to my able assistant, I get to don my Tutu in style and even entered the Tutu contest! I have never bothered to take part in such fancy contests and this time, I feel pretty proud of stepping out of my shell for a good and group cause! Because of this, my 2 lovely friends below was able to spot me in the sea of red and we connected after the race. I was thrilled to touch base with them before meeting my SMB friends.

pw xx

VIP

This group of mom bloggers have been a good support since our first GE Run 2014. It is always good to surround yourself with a few buddies to run together and encourage each other towards a healthier and fitter lifestyle. I am glad to have this support from my family and friends!

1-P1000228-001

For this GE Run 2015, I can feel the difference how running regularly has developed my muscles and body to weather a longer distance. With my 6mins Run- 30secs Walk- 6mins Run Strategy, I managed to complete my 10km in 1hr 23mins as compared to 1hr 30mins from my NTUC Income Run 350. This has also raised my confidence level and if God willing, I will be working towards my half marathon goal for the 2016 GE Run!

Praise The Lord for such AWESOME Weather with clear skies and fresh air so we can really enjoy this run! The overall atmosphere, organisation was good except for the lack of medic support. It is not evident until I was well into my 4km or further. It was a concern as I had feedback from a friend that she saw someone almost fainting and no crew was in sight. If I am not wrong, I recall last year to be stronger in such crew staffs at every junction. Otherwise, it has been an exciting and well planned event filled with meaningful and quality products in the goody bags as well as fringe activities. I had also benefitted from their training runs prior to this event. Thank You GE for this memorable moments!

I want to thank my hubs for taking the whole gang while I was at this run, to his other event- Walk for R.I.C.E Bedok Stadium where the kids actually did 35rounds on the tracks! J did 15x, A did 12x and E made 8 rounds running/walking! Am so proud of their first long distance attempts!

This simply means the kiddos are ready for 5km run/walks! That’ll be another exciting phase for us! Till then!

Did you enjoy your GE Run 2015? If you haven’t join before, it’s time to give it a try!  Hop over to their Facebook and follow them to get started!

Disclaimer: We were invited to participate in the Great Eastern Women’s Run 2015. No other form of compensation was received. All opinions are 100% genuine from the blogger. 

For more of GrowingHearts, come join us at our FaceBook, Or Subscribe by entering your e-mail in the box on the top right side bar to receive notifications of new posts by email.

5 comments

  1. Way to go for completing the race and getting fitter on this journey. Bet your kids must be mighty proud to see you wearing their artwork proudly too.

Leave a Reply

